REVIEW AND SWATCHES: MAKEUPGEEK EYESHADOW COLLECTION 19 SHADES + COUPON CODE!!

Hello my beautiful friends.

I have here the long awaited review and swatches of my fav eyeshadow brand: Makeupgeek. Makeupgeek is a brand founded by Marlena, who is a beauty guru from Youtube. She’s very down to earth and amazing and her shadows are impecable. They’re 5.99USD each for the regular shadow and 9.99USD each for the foiled shadow. I only have the regular shadow because I don’t think that the glittery finish of the foil eyeshadow would look good on my hooded lids.

DSC07447

The eyeshadows are very pigmented and very easy to blend so I won’t keep repeating that because if I do, this post will be 1000000000 words long. Just keep in mind that every single one of them has the same feel to it when you blend, which is very easy, and effortless.

Anyway, I have 19 shades so we better get started!

I will categorize the swatch in terms of the undertone. These are the warm undertones.

warm tones
warm tones

1. Peach Smoothie.

peach smoothie
peach smoothie

Super creamy peach shade. It’s great to put in the crease as a transition color. Personally this doesn’t look as good on me as it will for girls with a lighter complexion. This makes my eyes look a little too warm.

2. Creme brulee.

creme brulee
creme brulee

It is also a peach shade but not as peach as peach smoothie. That’s a lotta ‘peach’ in a sentence. lol. The website describe this as a medium sand color with a matte finish. For me this is my transition shade. Peach smoothie is great but it is a bit too light if you have a tan skin. So, my go to transition shade is this one.

3. Purely naked

purely naked
purely naked

It is a nude shadow with a hint of shimmer. Its got sparkle all over it but trust me, once you put this on your lid, the shimmer just reflects super beautifully and not too shimmery at all. It is a great natural shade.

4. Frappe

frappe
frappe

It is a medium red tone maple brown matte. It’s got a red tone to it but I don’t think it’s that red, not for me anyway. I alternate between this and creme brulee as my transition shade.

5. Latte

latte
latte

I love how they name their shadows! Latte is almost as brown as frappe, but not as red. It is a matte medium brown, also has a warm undertone but not as warm as frappe.

6. Cocoa Bear

cocoa bear
cocoa bear

OMG. This is my absolute favorite. It is a beautiful, matte, warm red tone brown. It is so great to put under the waterline to smoke out the lower lashes. I used this a lot instead of black.

7. Bitten

bitten
bitten

Bitten is a matte red purply shade. Super duper beautiful. I have been replacing brown with this particular shade. It’s winter in Australia but this shade, baby, is still the winner for me. Absolutely stunning!

Now… I’m calling all the cool tones.

cool tones
cool tones

1. Preppy

preppy
preppy

This is a brown-yellow shade. I think this shadow is great for olive undertone. I used this absolutely everywhere. It has a matte finish and reminded me of that color in your khaki pants.

2.Mocha

mocha
mocha

Dark mid tone , super great matte brown, cool tone but could pass as warm tone as well. This is the most boring shade for me out of the bunch but hey, a girl needs her brown shade, a’ight, mate?

3. Taupe Notch

taupe notch
taupe notch

This is one of their newer eyeshadow. A very taupe shade I must say. Very cool tone.

4. Hipster

hipster
hipster

This colour is very different than the rest. I don’t quite know how to describe it. It is described as a dark sand with a slight taupe shimmer.

5. High Tea

high tea
high tea

Also one of their newer shade. It is described as a matte medium brown with a very strong gray undertone.

6. Corrupt

corrupt
corrupt

Creamy matte black. Super black. You need this. Nuff said.

These are my shimmer shades.

shimmery shade
shimmery shade

They’re not too shimmery. I have mentioned that I can’t pull of the shimmery looks but they’re super great all over the lid, in the inner corner of the eyes or under the browbone.

1. Bleached Blonde

bleached blonde
bleached blonde

Don’t be fooled by the rocks that I got… wait what? Don’t be fooled by the name!! It is called bleached blonde but this looks nothing like some people’s hair when its bleached. This is a beautiful gold shade that us girls with darker skintone can pull off. It is not intimidating, looks good all over the lid or in the inner corner because it is a shimmery pale gold so not a bam-in-your-eyes-gold.

2. Shimma shimma

shimma shimma
shimma shimma

This is a shimmery metallic champagne colour. Not too silvery and not too white. Ideal to put under the browbone.

3. Pretentious

pretentious
pretentious

This shade is a metallic bronze but I feel a little let down with this shade as it didn’t look as bronze in real life. I don’t know if they recently changed the formulation or what but mine just looked a little dull.

These 2 are my colourful shades plus one brown shade that is darker than the rest of the brown mentioned above. They’re not shocking or whatever but they are quite vibrant than the rest of my collection which are a bit safe. hehe.

vibrant shades
vibrant shades

1. Bada Bing

bada bing
bada bing

Beautiful brown shades with tiny sparkles but the reflection of the sparkles is very beautiful once you applied it. Not intimidating at all. I tend to use this rather than the black shade for more of a softer approach smokey eye look.

2. Nautica

nautica
nautica

It is the most beautiful ocean color. It’s not shimmery but its got a satin finish, very creamy and pigmented like the rest of the shadow. Great for lining your eyes especially the lower lash line.

3. Envy

Envy
Envy

This is a beautiful green shade. It seemed like there could be some shimmer in it, in one glance but once you applied it, it finishes to a beautiful satin finish.

Okay, so that’s all I have to say. It is such a long review I know but I love doing this because I think everyone should know how amazing this makeup geek eyeshadows are! Regardless of the very few shades out of the bunch that I didn’t quite like, this is still my fav eyeshadow to date.

Now… to the fun part. If you guys want to stock up on makeupgeek, they are having a 10 percent off their website, with the code: STOCKUP10 until July 18th. International shipping starts from 8.99US I believe… So.. what u waitin for, boo?? Go get ’em!

I hope you guys find this review helpful and I will see you next time!

old cassette z palette can be purchased directly from makeupgeek website
old cassette z palette can be purchased directly from makeupgeek website

xx

11 thoughts on “REVIEW AND SWATCHES: MAKEUPGEEK EYESHADOW COLLECTION 19 SHADES + COUPON CODE!!

    1. Ooohhh… so hard to pick… but…Definitely the transition shade like latte, frappe, creme brule and for the smokey eye: corrupt and cocoa bear if you want a bit more warmth 🙂 those are my 5 top shades.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

