FOODIE SERIES #1: THE CUPPING ROOM

Hi, Everyone!

I wanted to do something a little different here. I wanted to do a food review! 🙂

I have lived in Canberra, Australia for 4 years now, 4 years in 2 weeks, but whose counting anyway? Many people think Canberra, despite being the capital of Australia, is the most boring place on earth, that’s why a lot of people call this city: Canboring. LOL. I do agree and disagree at the same time.

Canberra is super small. It has maybe 300,000people max and most of them are imigrants. Not just from overseas but from anywhere else in Australia, like Sydney, Melbourne, Tasmania, you name it. Most of them come here to work, and most of them, like myself, work for the government. That’s why this place is dead during the summer, esp during the Christmas break because everyone go home to their respective hometown.

I don’t think it’s that bad. It’s a beautiful city to live and since its super small, there is never a traffic jam. EVER. The rush hour from 8-9 and 5-6 is  cakewalk. Everyday commuting to work only takes 20 minutes MAX.

Anyway, enough about Canboring. Now, let’s talk about this cafe I discovered.

The Cupping Room
The Cupping Room

My friend and I went to The Cupping Room, it is located in the city, in front of the police station, opposite of Unipub.

I heard a lot of good review about this place, so I went there to check it out and it was awesome. Seriously, guys… We had to wait for about 10 minutes to get a table.

DSC07255

DSC07261

Coffee lovers, this cafe doesn’t have a regular coffee like latte, cappucino, flat white, mocha, etc. They do have their milk coffee (milk of your choice) and black coffee (espresso). So instead of cappucino you can order a seasonal blend (they said with a hint of berries and malt) or house blend with a hint of chocolate and caramel. I could not taste either of those. My friend and I ordered one of each and we couldn’t taste anything but coffee. It’s the same as regular latte, in my opinion. Don’t quote me on this. I don’t drink coffee. I have drunk maybe like 5 cups of coffee in my life, max!

DSC07257

glimpse of their menu
glimpse of their menu
What I ordered; huevos bollo
What I ordered; huevos bollo
My friend ordered the salmon
My friend ordered the salmon
Check out them fresh salmon!
Check out them fresh salmon!

The price is standard. Around 18Aud for a plate. We spent 57AUD for 2 coffees, 2 meals and one uh-mazing drink.

caramel salted milkshake with caramel popcorn on top! YUMMERS
caramel salted milkshake with caramel popcorn on top! YUMMERS

They have more of this yummy drinks, the toppings varied as well, like pretzel, popcorn, etc.

milkshake selection
milkshake selection

Overall the experience was great. We had an awesome time. The service was excellent. It was super fast and that salmon was the winner for me. The crispy salmon skin that they had… mouthgasm! And that milkshake. Enough said. I would come back just for the milkshake alone!

Hope you enjoy this review. If you live in Canberra, go check this place out. Hopefully you find this review hopeful and thank you for reading this post.

xx

My very happy face after stuffing ma face
My very happy face after stuffing ma face
Leave a Reply

