EYESHADOW PALETTE REVIEW: URBAN DECAY NAKED BASICS 1

DSC04399

Hello hello 🙂

I am going to cut straight to the chase and review this bad boy. UD Naked Basics (original) is probably one of the first palette I own. I wanted to buy the original naked palette but I didn’t , which was lucky since my mom got it for free and she gave it to me, and I have reviewed it here, if you are interested in reading my thoughts on the palette.

So, without further a due, here’s what I thought on the palette.

Let’s start with the pro’s first:

1. Simple packaging.

The packaging is very sturdy and it snapped shut so you won’t have to worry about getting these shadows everywhere. There’s a cute mirror inside as well so no need to bring a separate mirror. So, I can conclude that this palette is great for travelling IF you want to go minimalist.

2. BLENDABLE

The blendability of this palette is incredible. It blends so softly and easily, it’s not chalky or powdery. The formula is very creamy and so smooth.

Moving on, the cons are:

1. Pigmentation.

While the last 3 rows are very very pigmented, the first 3 rows just didn’t do me any good.

DSC04401 DSC04402

This is an ALL MATTE palette with ONE shimmer shade for browbone highlight or inner corner.

The shades from left to right:

Venus (soft, off-white demi-matte), Foxy (cream bisque matte), Walk of Shame (very light nude matte), Naked2 (taupe matte), Faint (warm, dusty brown matte) and Crave (deepest, darkest brown/black matte) — description taken from the UD website —

The color Foxy and Walk of Shame (W.O.S) is very similar when applied to my eyelid. Of course it is not the same color when swatched but when you put these colors on my lid, anyway, they look identical. I guess they served as transition color so their function is to blend away the harsh edges, but, still, it feels like they can have another shade that is not quite strikingly similar as the shade next door!

2. FALL OUT

While the formula is excellent in most shades I do have to mention the darkest shade ‘crave’ has a tendency to leave fall outs on your cheeks. Of course this can be omitted by applying your eyeshadows first and foundation later, if you wish.

So, with 2 pros and 2 cons, my verdict for this palette would be 5/10.

I purchased this palette using my own money btw and it cost me 40 australian dollars. which I thought was a rip off! So, if you can get it cheaper than that (beautybay.com) usually held a sale for spring or summer and you can get 10-20 percent off, I think it’s okay for the price (WITH THE DISCOUNT), if not, then… leave it.

I hope you find this review helpful. Don’t forget to click like if you like this post (obviously, duh) and follow me 🙂 I will make sure to follow you back 🙂

xo

2 thoughts on “EYESHADOW PALETTE REVIEW: URBAN DECAY NAKED BASICS 1

Leave a Reply

