SAFE MAKEUP: INGREDIENTS TO AVOID!!!

Hello my noobies. I hope this post finds you well. I have been reading about these ingredients that we constantly find on the ingredients list. There are a lot of ingredients that are not safe for your face. Can I get an AMEN?

Now I am going to talk briefly since I’m no expert- about these ingredients.

What ingredients to avoid in your makeup?

1. PARABEN

OF COURSE. DUH. This one is a no brainer. Why avoid this one? Because this is what is used to preserve the makeup. Just google paraben for more accurate explanation but it can interfere with your body, and its been detected in human breast cancer tissue and for male it can interfere with the reproductive functions. So. big no-no. PLEASE ALSO AVOID the friends of this ingredients, for instance: METHYLPARABEN, PROPYPARABEN, ETHYLPARABEN, etc. Anything with the word “paraben” in it. Just say no to them!

2. Fragrance

This one is also pretty self explanatory. Fragrance mixes can be associated with allergies, dermatitis, respiratory diseases, and again potential damage in the reproductive system.

3. Phthalates

This one can be found in nail polishes, deodorants, and hairsprays. They are well known to increase the risk of breast cancer !

4. Sodium lauryl sulfate (SLS) / Sodium laureth sulfate (SLES)

This can be found in more than 90 percent of personal care and cleaning products. It is known to be skin, lung, and eye irritants. You can find this in shampoo, body wash/cleanser, mascara and acne treatment. SO always look for shampoo without sulfate!!!

5. PHENOXYETHANOL

This is paraben’s bff right here. Maybe your cosmetics didn’t state paraben but it stated phenoxyethanol, well there you go. Because these 2 are interchangeable! It’s got FDA warning already and I think we should just avoid this altogether.

Those are the 5 ingredients I found disturbing and needs to be avoided when purchasing makeup. Whenever I want to buy makeup I would check the ingredients first and I would refer to the goodguide website.

What is goodguide website? It is a website with a lot of database on cosmetics, foods, etc. They have the explanation on how much chemicals are in your makeup products. They have a lot of brands listed in there. If you are not sure whether your makeup is safe or not,  just click on the hyperlink. 🙂

I don’t own a lot of makeup because before buying makeup  I always have 2 checklist.

1. Is it cruelty free?

2. Is it SAFE? i.e. does contain paraben? does it contain all of the 5 nasties mentioned above?

Of course there are some products I’ve overlooked and BOUGHT anyway. and seriously sometimes I feel guilty putting those on my face. I’ll try and be careful next time 🙂

See you in the next post, noobies 😀

PS. I am looking to follow beauty blogs as well so If you want me to follow you, please follow my blog and I’ll tots folback 🙂

have a great day you guys. Tomorrow is friday! breathe….

2 thoughts on “SAFE MAKEUP: INGREDIENTS TO AVOID!!!

  1. Hey! Love this post. I am a safe beauty blogger, so also be sure to check out the Think Dirty App, and ewg.org/skindeep for more information on product lines, their level of toxicity, and whether or not they are safe for you. I wish you the best in all your travels!

    Like

Leave a Reply

