URBAN DECAY: NAKED PALETTE (ORIGINAL) – REVIEW AND SWATCHES

IMG_8039

Hello…. noobies 🙂

Before I get straight to the point, I needed to let you know that I got this palette for free. My mom actually got this for her birthday, from her friends. They all chipped in to buy her this palette. cute right? But my mom didn’t really use eyeshadow so she gave this to me instead. double yay!

This is the original naked palette by Urban Decay. This palette is very famous amongst the beauty community. It retailed at 54 USD and 78 AUD. They are available online at the sephora website or at beautybay website (they offer free shipping to Australia, but the price range around 82-88AUD). They will be available at the meccamaxima website and shops for UD fans in Australia in just 4 days 🙂 the price for Urban Decay the naked palettes are 78 AUD (with US conversion to AUD plus tax, it’s a good deal, considering at beautybay website is much more expensive)

Enough blabber,

Here are the swatches 🙂

photo 1

As you can see my skintone are a bit on the olive-tanned side, so the shimmery and matte didn’t really show that well on my skin tone.

Check out the first 3 shades especially.

So, the first 3 shades are (from left to right)

IMG_8035

Virgin which is a cool pale beige shimmer, Sin a champagne shimmer , and Naked , a nude matte. Naked did not perform well at all in my opinion. I would go for makeup geek for matte. I think they have a better range matte shadows.

The next 3 shades are:

IMG_8042

Sidecar which is a beige shimmer w/silver micro-glitter, Buck a fawn brown matte, Half Baked is a golden bronze shimmer. Again, the shimmery shades are great, beautiful, very pigmented but the matte brown really disappoints!

The next 3 shades are all shimmers:

IMG_8038

Smog , a deep coppery bronze shimmer, Darkhorse , a deep mocha shimmer, and Toasted. Toasted is my favorite shade from the bunch. It is an antique copper penny shimmer. So pretty to put all over the lid, line your uper lid with matte black gel liner and boom! you’re good to go.

IMG_8041

The last three shades are Hustle , a plum-brown satin, Creep which is a onyx shimmer with gold sparkle and Gunmetal ,a dark metallic gray shimmer w/silver micro-glitter. Hustle is also a really really nice shade. I sometimes put Toasted all over the lid then Hustle at the outer corner to make things smokier.

Well that’s the swatches of all the shades. What do I think about the palette overall? If I didn’t get the palette for free, I wouldn’t even bother buying it in the first place. I would rather save my money for makeupgeek eyeshadows.

So, pigmentation: 7/10 (I deduct point because there were only 2 matte shades and they were not pigmented enough)

Price: 6/10 they’re a bit pricey

Packaging: 6/10 they do not snap shut so there’s a chance that they’ll go all over the place when you put it in your suitcase when you’re traveling or what not.

I hope you enjoy this review and swatches, please let me know if you have any thoughts regarding this palette, if you are contemplating to still buy this, just leave me a comment and if you follow my instagram: beautynoobie, that’d make my day as well.

See you in the next post, noobies 🙂

xox

3 thoughts on “URBAN DECAY: NAKED PALETTE (ORIGINAL) – REVIEW AND SWATCHES

  1. Hey 🙂

    Lovely review!
    Hmm, I think this is the first non – ‘OHMYGOSH this palette is flawless’ post I’ve read. I’m so glad you were honest. I have the Naked Basics palette, which is smaller, has 6 shades and they are all matte. It includes the shade Naked, but I thought it was okay. Not too impressive, but a perfect blending shade for a natural smokey eye.
    I honestly really want to try a Naked palette with shimmery shades. I usually prefer matte shades, but am sure that in about 2 – 3 months I’ll be sick of them. I need some shimmer! These palettes seemed like great places to look. 🙂

    Great post, again, and I love the photos you took.

    xx

    (also, thanks for the swatches!)

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Thank you for taking the time to write me a comment 🙂 Yes, it’s not that impressive. I live in Australia so the price mark up is already ridiculous. For that price I expect something wow you know, but it just didn’t happen with this palette. My next review would be the Naked Basics too… If your skin tone is lighter than me I think this palette will suit you better. the blending color just doesn’t suit me at all…

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

